Blaine Auto Repair

Mon - Fri: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
4

Thank you for the 4 star rating Joyce- we'll do our best to deliver a 5 star experience next time!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
1

We brought my boyfriends car in there and made them WELL AWARE that the person who we bought it from didn’t put it together right and that things were missing. We made them well aware it didn’t run. They said they would still do the head gasket repair. After a few hours of it being there they called us and said they refused to do it because they don’t want to be liable for it when there was ONLY two bolts missing from the whole car and one ground wire not hooked up and they told us earlier they would do it and no issue with it. They never even tried to do anything with it or look it over besides the two bolts missing and wire. They then proceeded to tell us that if we have an issue to come in person and to talk to them. When we got there they didn’t have anything to say. We then proceeded to load up the car by ourselves and they didn’t even offer help. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE. I have only heard bad things from other people I’ve talked to that have gone there since. Don’t waste your money on the terrible customer service they have there.

Hi Olivia- thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. This is the fourth review we've received for this vehicle and the facts still haven't changed. As we tried to explain to your boyfriend, the vehicle arrived at our shop with multiple problems we noted on his work order including: "Technician pushed vehicle into the shop and found multiple connectors unplugged. Alternator was missing bolts and bolts not tight. Starter cables were hanging out the bottom of the car. Tech lifted vehicle up and found exhaust was all disconnected and more connectors were un plugged. Vehicle didn't have a oil filter installed and motor mounts nuts were loose among other problems." There were dozens of problems with the vehicle. It appeared that someone attempted to remove the engine and quit half way through the job. Pressure testing the cooling system, like you asked us to do, will not get your vehicle anywhere close to being able to run. We would not be doing you any favors by performing this service with the vehicle in the current inoperable condition. We apologize for any miscommunication that may have happened.

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
5

Great team at Honest ONE, from beginning to end. They perform at a professional level and are very knowledgeable when it comes to your vehicle. Highly recommended over any other shop in town. 5-stars!

Thank you Jesus! We appreciate you trusting us with your vehicle!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
5

Great team at Honest ONE, from beginning to end. They perform at a professional level and are very knowledgeable when it comes to your vehicle. Highly recommended over any other shop in town. 5-stars!

Thank you Jesus! We appreciate you trusting us with your vehicle!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
5

you guys are great, you take care of us with our autos, fast and efficient, thanks again for a great job...

Hi John- thank you for your 5 star review and for trusting us with your vehicles! We appreciate your support!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
4

Wasn’t incredibly satisfied with the diagnostic report or communication this time around. Otherwise friendly employees with good customer service and quick repair. They were able to get me in right away.

Hi Ethan- we apologize for not meeting your expectations on your last visit. We'll do our best to deliver a 5 star experience next time!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
1

Never bring your vehicle here!! Jeremy is the worst and downright rude, and the shop name is the complete opposite of what I experienced. They were so dishonest and now my son is out money because of their dishonestly! We told them the issue with his vehicle and payed to have it towed their to find out they wouldn't work on it even after they were told everything that was wrong with it before hand. They wouldn't even apologize for their mistake. So disappointed in this business. As far as the manager Jeremy, I find it extremely unprofessional to advise customers to "come and see me in person" insinuating a threat. Such a terrible experience. IN RESPONSE TO YOUR REPLY: The fact of the matter is you were NOT once told nor asked to get the vehicle running, you were asked to take the heads off and have them machined and put back on. That's it, nothing more. Everything that was missing was explaining to someone at the shop prior to bringing in the car. It was even explained on multiple occasions to NOT start the vehicle. Things were taken off intentially so it wouldnt start, again as we asked you not to do. Also the starter cable was left dragging on the ground by your tech is was NOT brought in that way. Your techs also hooked up the battery... (draining a brand new battery by the way) so when we went to pick the started cables up we almost got electrocuted. It was blantly a mistake by the tech who said you could do the work otherwise we would have never brought it there. Really a simple apology for their mistake would have been enough, but they push of the blame just really shows a lot about your staff and how things are ran there.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're very sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. As we tried to explain to you, the vehicle arrived at our shop with multiple problems we noted on your work order including: "Technician pushed vehicle into the shop and found multiple connectors unplugged. Alternator was missing bolts and bolts not tight. Starter cables were hanging out the bottom of the car. Tech lifted vehicle up and found exhaust was all disconnected and more connectors were un plugged. Vehicle didn't have a oil filter installed and motor mounts nuts were loose among other problems." There were dozens of problems with the vehicle. It appeared that someone attempted to remove the engine and quit half way through the job. Pressure testing the cooling system, like you asked us to do, will not get your vehicle anywhere close to being able to run. We would not be doing you, or your son, any favors by performing this service with the vehicle in the current inoperable condition. We apologize for any miscommunication that may have happened.

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
5

They really are honest! In past years they actually told me about repairs I didn't need and helped me save money. They are my go-to shop when my autos want work done!

Thank you for your kind words and for trusting us with your vehicles Roger!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
1

Never bring your vehicle here!! Jeremy is the worst and downright rude, and the shop name is the complete opposite of what I experienced. They were so dishonest and now my son is out money because of their dishonestly! We told them the issue with his vehicle and payed to have it towed their to find out they wouldn't work on it even after they were told everything that was wrong with it before hand. They wouldn't even apologize for their mistake. So disappointed in this business. As far as the manager Jeremy, I find it extremely unprofessional to advise customers to "come and see me in person" insinuating a threat. Such a terrible experience.

Hi Brittany- thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're very sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. As we tried to explain to you, the vehicle arrived at our shop with multiple problems we noted on your work order including: "Technician pushed vehicle into the shop and found multiple connectors unplugged. Alternator was missing bolts and bolts not tight. Starter cables were hanging out the bottom of the car. Tech lifted vehicle up and found exhaust was all disconnected and more connectors were un plugged. Vehicle didn't have a oil filter installed and motor mounts nuts were loose among other problems." There were dozens of problems with the vehicle. It appeared that someone attempted to remove the engine and quit half way through the job. Pressure testing the cooling system, like you asked us to do, will not get your vehicle anywhere close to being able to run. We would not be doing you, or your son, any favors by performing this service with the vehicle in the current inoperable condition. We apologize for any miscommunication that may have happened.

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
5

Had air conditioning leak in my Subaru. Got appointment right away. They fixed issue within 30 minutes. Awesome!

Thank you for the 5 star review Julia! We're happy we could get your AC back online!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine
Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call Honest-1 Auto Care Blaine (763) 862-8411 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.